Register for the 2018 Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame Banquet

Randall Weiseman Florida

The Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame Banquet will take place Feb. 13 in Tampa. This event will honor the 2018 inductees to the Hall of Fame.

Four agricultural leaders have been chosen to enter the Hall of Fame this year. They are Alfonso Fanjul, J. Pepe Fanjul, Lowell Loadholtz and Harold K. Mikell. These four men have dedicated their lives to different areas of Florida agriculture.

Alfonso Fanjul and J. Pepe Fanjul have been important members of the Everglades Agricultural Area community for 50 years. Coming from the founding family of Florida Crystals Corporation, these two men have given their lives to Florida sugar.

Loadholtz spent 33 years working for the University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS) as an Extension agent. During his time with UF/IFAS, he promoted Florida agriculture in the state and federal legislatures while bettering the lives of farmers in the counties he served.

Mikell first made a career in forestry in Tallahassee. He worked for the Florida Forest Service for 40 years, then began a career as a congressional liaison for the agriculture industry. Now 91, he retired only six years ago. According to his biography on the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame website, he is still active in community service in Tallahassee and Gilchrist County.

The Hall of Fame inductees received recognition from Florida Agriculture Commissioner Adam Putnam. Read Putnam’s statement here.

Learn more about the inductees here.

The Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame gives attendees the opportunity to sponsor Youth Mentor Program participants to attend the event. Those interested can also donate to the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame scholarship. Find more information here.

To attend the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame Banquet, donate to the scholarship fund or sponsor a Youth Mentor Program participant, click here. Sales end Feb 9.

About the Author