USDA Expands Drought Recovery Assistance to Livestock Producers in Additional Georgia Counties

Dan Agri-Business, Cattle, Funding, Livestock, USDA-FSA

Photo by Nikita Sypko on Unsplash

The USDA Farm Service Agency in Georgia (FSA-GA) is now accepting applications in four additional eligible counties for the Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP) to provide financial assistance to eligible livestock producers for 2023 grazing losses due to a qualifying drought. This expands upon a previous announcement of eligibility for twenty Georgia counties. The deadline to apply for LFP assistance is January 30, 2024.

To date, twenty-four Georgia counties have met the drought severity levels that trigger LFP eligibility for the 2023 program year. The four additional eligible counties are Habersham, Rabun, Towns, and White. Previously announced eligible counties are Bartow, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Dade, Dawson, Decatur, Early, Fannin, Floyd, Gilmer, Gordon, Lumpkin, Miller, Murray, Pickens, Seminole, Union, Walker, and Whitfield. For LFP, qualifying drought triggers are determined using the U.S. Drought Monitor.


LFP provides compensation to eligible livestock producers who have suffered grazing losses for covered livestock and who are also producers of grazed forage crop acreage of native and improved pastureland with permanent vegetative cover or acreage planted specifically for grazing. Grazing losses must occur on land physically located in a county experiencing a qualifying drought during the normal grazing period for the county.

Eligible livestock include alpacas, beef cattle, buffalo/bison, beefalo, dairy cattle, deer, elk, emus, equine, goats, llamas, ostrich, reindeer, or sheep that have been or would have been grazing the eligible grazing land or pastureland during the normal grazing period.

Visit the FSA LFP webpage for a list of eligible counties and grazing crops.