USDA Designates Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Dan Agri-Business, Alabama, Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries (ADAI), Drought, Funding, USDA-FSA, Weather

natural disaster
natural disaster

(ADAI/MONTGOMERY, AL/Feb. 15,2023) — Last week USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) announced a Secretarial natural disaster designation for 27 counties in Tennessee that also included four counties in Alabama that are contiguous to some of the Tennessee counties.

This designation will extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from drought through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.


The four Alabama counties included in the disaster designation are Jackson, Lauderdale, Limestone and Madison. The application deadline is October 2, 2023.

For more information or to learn about program options, visit Find your local USDA Service Center at

Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries