Two Florida Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Dan Economy, Florida, USDA-FSA

natural disaster
Photo by rolf neumann on Unsplash
natural disaster

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area:

  • Florida

Triggering Disaster:

  • Freeze that occurred on March 11 through March 13, 2022

Application Deadline:

  • April 26, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible:

  • Gilchrist and Madison

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:


  • Alachua, Columbia, Dixie, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Levy, Suwannee and Taylor


  • Brooks and Lowndes

More Resources

For awareness, agricultural producers and landowners impacted by Hurricane Ian in Sept. 2022, continue to assess damages and file notices of loss with USDA. Producers and landowners who sustained damages and incurred hurricane-related losses should contact their local USDA Service Center.

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local  USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.