Lauderdale County, Alabama, Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Area

Dan Alabama, Economy, USDA-FSA


This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.


Impacted Area:

  • Alabama

Triggering Disaster:

  • Drought

Application Deadline:

  • April 26, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible:

  • Lauderdale

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

  • Colbert, Lawrence and Limestone
  • Tishomingo
  • Giles, Hardin, Lawrence and Wayne

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.

United States Department of Agriculture/Farm Service Agency