natural disaster

Alachua County, Florida, Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Area

Dan Florida, USDA-FSA

natural disaster
Image by Helga Kattinger from Pixabay

(USDA/FSA/WASHINGTON, D.C./August 25, 2022) — This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area:


Triggering Disaster:

Freeze on January 29 through January 31, 2022

Application Deadline:

April 10, 2023


Primary Counties Eligible:


Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Florida: Bradford, Columbia, Gilchrist, Levy, Marion, Putnam and Union

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

USDA Farm Service Agency