Georgia Counties Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought

Dan Drought, Georgia, USDA-FSA, Weather

natural disaster

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 1, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Bryan, Bulloch, Chatham and Effingham

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia: Candler, Emanuel, Evans, Jenkins, Liberty and Screven

South Carolina: Hampton and Jasper

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 13, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible: Liberty, Long and McIntosh

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia: Bryan, Evans, Glynn, Tattnall and Wayne

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local  USDA Service Center.