natural disaster

Four Georgia Counties Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Dan Georgia, USDA-FSA, Weather

natural disaster

(USDA/FSA/October 27, 2021) — This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. 

Impacted Area: Georgia

Triggering Disaster: Tropical Storm Elsa, excessive wind and excessive rainfall that occurred July 7, 2021

Application Deadline: June 20, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Echols, Lanier, Lowndes and Pierce

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible


Florida: Columbia, Hamilton and Madison

More Resources
On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.