Farmer of the Year Luncheon Still Slated for First Day of Sunbelt Ag Expo

Clint Thompson Alabama, Florida, Georgia

By Clint Thompson

The dawn of another Sunbelt Ag Expo means a new Swisher Sweets Sunbelt Ag Expo Southeastern Farmer of the Year will soon be named.

The annual Willie B. Withers Luncheon and 30th annual farmer of the year announcement is still scheduled for noon on Tuesday, Oct. 19, despite the ongoing coronavirus pandemic, says Chip Blalock, Sunbelt Ag Expo Executive Director.


“More than likely, we’re going to have a smaller crowd this year, so we’ll be able to spread out,” Blalock said.

Ten states participate in the program: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

This year’s state winners are:

Alabama – Thomas Ellis

Arkansas – Jamie Anderson

Florida – Raymond R. “Rick” Roth, Jr.

Georgia – Samuel L. Nunn

Kentucky – Stephen J. Kelley

Mississippi – Joe Edmondson

North Carolina – James L. Lamb

South Carolina – Robert “Bob” Martin Hall

Tennessee – Jay Yeargin

Virginia – Charles Edwin Isbell, Jr.

More than 1,200 exhibitors and thousands of visitors are expected to visit the 100-acre show site during the three days; Oct. 19-21. Gates will open at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday.