Four Florida Counties Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Dan Florida, USDA-FSA

natural disaster

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

State: Florida

Triggering Disaster: Rain, flooding and winds caused by Tropical Storm Eta that occurred from Nov. 7 through Nov. 13, 2020

Application Deadline: Feb. 10, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Broward, Charlotte, Martin and Palm Beach 

Contiguous Counties also Eligible: Collier, DeSoto, Glades, Hendry, Highlands, Lee, Miami-Dade, Okeechobee, St. Lucie and Sarasota

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Source: U. S. Department of Agriculture/Farm Service Agency