georgia cotton commission

GCC Annual Meeting to be Held on Jan. 27

Clint Thompson Cotton, Georgia

The Georgia Cotton Commission’s (GCC) annual meeting may be virtual this year, but it still will present producers with timely, relevant information for the upcoming year.

The meeting will be held on Wednesday, Jan. 27 at 9 a.m. It will feature a plethora of speakers and informative topics, says Taylor Sills, GCC Executive Director.

georgia cotton commission

“Our meeting is obviously very important to us. We wanted to continue to do it despite not being able to do it in person. It was a no-brainer decision to move it to virtual. This year our main topics are going to be the seed coat fragment issue and an update from the Classing Office; an update and kind of where the state of where the boll weevil eradication program is here in Georgia, especially, but across the Cotton Belt; and then the U.S. Cotton Trust Protocol, which is obviously an industry priority,” Sills said. “We’re also going to have updates from the new chairman of the U.S. House Ag Committee, who is David Scott from Georgia.”

Featured Speakers

The featured speakers include Darryl Earnest, Deputy Administrator, USDA AMS Cotton and Tobacco Program; Ed Barnes, Senior Director of Agricultural and Environmental Research, Cotton Inc.; Bart Davis, Chairman, BWEF of Georgia, Inc.; Alan Lowman, Executive Director, BWEF of Georgia Inc.; Phillip Roberts, University of Georgia (UGA) cotton entomologist; Matt Coley, producer and board member of the U.S. Cotton Trust Protocol; Nick Place, the new dean of the UGA College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; and Tom McCall, the new president of the Georgia Farm Bureau.

“We try to be timely and relevant with the annual meeting and everything we’re doing here at the commission on the producers’ behalf.”

The winners of the 2020 Georgia Quality Cotton Awards will also be announced.

For more information or to register for the event, click here.

About the Author

Clint Thompson

Multimedia Journalist for AgNet Media Inc.