Various Crops Qualify for Quality Loss Adjustment (QLA)

Dan Economy, USDA-FSA


The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) this week started signup for the Quality Loss Adjustment (QLA) Program. Eligible crops include those for which federal crop insurance or Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program (NAP) coverage is available, except for grazed crops and value loss crops. Tyron Spearman has more details.

Various Crops Qualify for QLA

Quality Loss Adjustment Program

Did you suffer crop quality losses due to natural disasters that occurred in 2018 or 2019? USDA is implementing the Quality Loss Adjustment (QLA) Program to provide financial assistance to crop producers who experienced quality losses caused by qualifying disaster events.

USDA’s Farm Service Agency is accepting QLA applications from January 6 through March 5, 2021.

USDA announced on January 5 that the Quality Loss Adjustment Program will assist producers whose eligible crops suffered quality losses due to qualifying drought, excessive moisture, flooding, hurricanes, snowstorms, tornadoes, typhoons, volcanic activity, or wildfires occurring in calendar years 2018 and/or 2019. QLA joins a suite of USDA programs offering disaster assistance for America’s farmers. 

About the Quality Loss Adjustment Program