crop insurance

Two Alabama Counties Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Dan Alabama, Economy, Industry News Release, USDA

two alabama
Sally was a Category 2 at landfall on Sept. 16th.

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

(USDA) — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated two Alabama counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Baldwin and Mobile counties who suffered losses caused by excessive wind, flash flooding and excessive rainfall caused by Hurricane Sally that occurred from Sept. 15 through Sept. 16, 2020, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:


  • Alabama: Clarke, Escambia, Monroe and Washington
  • Florida: Escambia
  • Mississippi: George, Greene and Jackson

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is June 21, 2021.

Hurricane Sally damaged crops and structures along Alabama’s Gulf Coast when it hit Sept. 16. Slay’s Nursery sustained damage from the hurricane.

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish ProgramEmergency Conservation ProgramLivestock Forage Disaster ProgramLivestock Indemnity ProgramOperating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Source: U. S. Department of Agriculture