Ag Commissioner Gary Black to Represent Agriculture on EXIM 2019 Advisory Committee

Dan Georgia, Industry News Release


Washington, D.C. (EXIM) – The Export-Import Bank of the United States (EXIM) announced the 17 members of its 2019 Advisory Committee. The Honorable Stevan Pearce, small business owner and former Member of the U.S. House of Representatives and the New Mexico House of Representatives, will serve as chair.

The EXIM Advisory Committee, as required by Congress, advises EXIM on its programs and, in particular, on the extent to which the agency provides competitive financing to support American jobs through exports.

“I am pleased to announce our 2019 Advisory Committee,” said EXIM President and Chairman Kimberly A. Reed. Reed added, “These outstanding and qualified individuals with diverse experiences, including from small business and rural America, will provide valuable insights for EXIM and the U.S. Congress. The Advisory Committee’s input is vital as we look to transform our agency, particularly given the competitive economic landscape beyond our borders, while protecting the U.S. taxpayer and our nation’s national security.”

The EXIM Board of Directors appointed the Advisory Committee during the open session of today’s EXIM Board of Directors Meeting after an open nomination process was published in the Federal Register on June 21, 2019. The nomination process considered the congressional mandates for Advisory Committee representation, as well as the candidates’ business experiences and qualifications. The Advisory Committee broadly represents an array of sectors and stakeholder groups, including small business, agriculture, environment, finance, labor, services, and textiles, among others.

Members of EXIM 2019 Advisory Committee, and the sectors they represent, are as follows:


The Honorable Stevan Pearce*
LFT Ltd.
Former Member
U.S. House of Representatives and New Mexico House of Representatives
Hobbs, NM
Representing: State Government


Gary Black
Commissioner of Agriculture
Georgia Department of Agriculture
Representing: Agriculture

Maria Cino
Vice President, Americas and U.S. Corporate Affairs
Hewlett Packard Enterprise
Washington, DC
Representing: Production

Robert Dinerstein
Veracity Worldwide
New York, NY
Representing: Finance

Rodney Ferguson
President and CEO
Winrock International
Arlington, VA
Representing: Environment

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder
Center for Financial Stability
New York, NY
Representing: Finance

Owen Herrnstadt
Chief of Staff to the International President, and Director of Trade and Globalization Department
International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
Upper Marlboro, MD
Representing: Labor

Kathie Leonard*
Auburn Manufacturing, Inc.
Mechanic Falls, ME
Representing: Textiles

Brad Markell
Executive Director
AFL-CIO, Industrial Union Council
Washington, DC
Representing: Labor

Richard Powell
Executive Director
Washington, DC
Representing: Environment

Thomas Raguso
Group Executive Vice President, Director of Global Banking
Zions Bancorporation, N.A.
Houston, TX
Representing: Finance

Richard Rogovin*
Chairman, General Counsel
U.S. Bridge
Cambridge, OH
Representing: Production

Alejandro Sanchez
President and CEO
Florida Bankers Association
Tallahassee, FL
Representing: Finance

Christopher Smith*
Executive Director
Parity for Main Street Employers
Washington, DC
Representing: Commerce

Harvey Tettlebaum
Husch Blackwell, LLP
Jefferson City, MO
Representing: Services

Deborah Wince-Smith
President and CEO
Council on Competitiveness
Washington, DC
Representing: Commerce

Joanne Young
Managing Partner
Kirstein Young, PLLC
Washington, DC
Representing: Services

*Small Business

Source: Export-Import Bank of the United States