georgia peanuts

Georgia Peanut Commission Board Members Renominated

Dan Georgia, Industry News Release, Peanuts

georgia peanut commission

Three Georgia Peanut Commission board members were renominated without opposition to the Georgia Peanut Commission board of directors at nomination meetings held on Dec. 10, 2018. The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation conducted the nomination meetings for the commission’s districts two, four and five.

Armond Morris, Tift County, representing district two; Rodney Dawson, Pulaski County, representing district four and Donald Chase, Macon County, representing district five, all previously held the seat for their district, which expired Dec. 31, 2018. Since only one person was nominated for each district, no election is required and the nominated person automatically becomes a member of the Georgia Peanut Commission Board. Now, after renomination, they will serve Georgia peanut farmers on the board for the next three years.

The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district. Additional board members include Joe Boddiford of Screven County, representing district three and Tim Burch of Baker County, representing district one. 

The Georgia Peanut Commission represents more than 4,500 peanut farm families in the state and conducts programs in the areas of research, promotion and education. For more information on the programs of the Georgia Peanut Commission, visit

Source: Georgia Peanut Commission