natural disaster

Five Counties in Georgia as Primary Natural Disaster Areas with Assistance to Producers in Florida

Dan Florida, Georgia, Industry News Release

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Atkinson, Clinch, Coffee, Jeff Davis and Ware countiescounties in Georgia as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought.

Farmers and ranchers in the following contiguous counties in Georgia also qualify for natural disaster assistance. Those counties are:

Appling Charlton Pierce
Bacon Echols Telfair
Ben Hill Irwin Toombs
Berrien Lanier Wheeler
Brantley Montgomery  

Farmers and ranchers in Baker and Columbia counties in Florida also qualify for natural disaster assistance.

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency’s (FSA’s) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration of May 10, 2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation ProgramLivestock Forage Disaster ProgramLivestock Indemnity ProgramEmergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at