Five Counties in Georgia Designated as Primary Natural Disaster Areas with Assistance to Producers in Florida

Dan Drought, Florida, Georgia, Industry News Release

countiesIn response to a request from Dianne Westmoreland, Farm Service Agency’s (FSA) Acting State Executive Director in Georgia, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated Baker, Decatur, Grady, Mitchell and Thomas counties in Georgia as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought.

Farmers and ranchers in Brooks, Calhoun, Colquitt, Dougherty, Early, Miller, Seminole and Worth counties in Georgia also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

Farmers and ranchers in Gadsden, Jefferson and Leon counties in Florida also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on June 14, 2017, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for FSA’s emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster ProgramLivestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

Share this Post