Appointments to Serve on the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions

Randall Weiseman Beef, Cattle, Cotton, Equine, Field Crops, General, Georgia, Industry News Release, Livestock, Specialty Crops

From the Georgia Department of Agriculture:

The Ex Officio Committee for the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions met on Tuesday, July 11, 2016, to make the following appointments to serve on the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions:

Beef Commission:
John Callaway, Coweta County
Ernie Ford, Calhoun County
Allen Wiggins, Turner County
Jeff Duncan, Madison County
Kenneth Murphy, Meriwether County

Cotton Commission:
Matt Coley, Dooly County
Steven Meeks, Wayne County

Equine Commission:
Beth Williams, Oconee County
Barbara Kelly, Peach County
Jordan Vaughn, Monroe County (advisory member)

Tobacco Commission:
Jerry Wooten, Jeff Davis County

Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions are created by the Georgia Legislature and receive funds from farmer-approved market orders, which allow for collection of assessments on sale of the commodity. Funds received by the commodity commission can be spent for research, education and promotion of the commodity. The Equine Commission receives its funds from the sale of the Equine Specialty License plate for motor vehicles. Commission member terms are three years.