GFB Federation Names Nominees for GPC Board of Directors

Dan General, Georgia, Peanuts

Georgia Farm Bureau

Tyron Spearman

Tyron Spearman tells us who the nominees are for the Georgia Peanut Commission board of directors for districts 2, 4 and 5.

Download Audio

Nomination meetings to fill three positions on the Georgia Peanut Commission (GPC) board of directors were recently held in Cochran, Oglethorpe and in Tifton. The Georgia Farm Bureau Federation conducted the meetings during which peanut producers nominated peers to represent the Peanut Commission’s districts 2, 4 and 5. The terms of the commission members who currently represent these districts expire in May 2016.

Georgia Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall said. “The Georgia Peanut Commission plays an important role in promoting the industry, conducting research and educating producers and the public about industry issues.”

The Georgia peanut production area is divided into five districts based on acreage distribution and geographical location with one board member representing each district. Each nominee must produce peanuts and live within the district for which he or she is nominated.

The GPC District 5 nomination meeting was held at the Macon County Extension Service Office in Oglethorpe on Dec. 21. Donald Chase of Macon County is the district incumbent and was nominated to remain on the board for another term. Counties in District 5 include: Chattahoochee, Clay, Lee, Macon, Marion, Peach, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Terrell and Webster.

The GPC District 4 nomination meeting was held at the Bleckley County Farm Bureau Office in Cochran on Dec. 21. Rodney Dawson of Pulaski County is the District 4 incumbent and was also nominated to remain on the board for another term. Counties in District 4 include: Bleckley, Crisp, Dodge, Dooly, Houston, Laurens, Pulaski, Telfair, Twiggs, Wheeler, Wilcox and Wilkinson.

The GPC District 2 nomination meeting was held at the Tift County Farm Bureau office in Tifton on Dec. 22. Armond Morris is the incumbent in the district and was nominated to remain on the board for another term. Counties in District 2 include: Atkinson, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Coffee, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Thomas, Tift, Turner and Worth.