D.W. Brooks Awards and Lecture Series is Tomorrow

Josh McGill Ag "Outdoors", General, Georgia

button-archTomorrow the University of Georgia will recognize nine outstanding faculty and support staff members of the College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences (CAES) with the D.W. Brooks Awards for Excellence and the CAES Faculty and Staff Awards.  The awards ceremony will be at the Georgia Center for Continuing Education in Athens and follows a key note lecture by 2014 World Food Prize Laureate Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram.

Categories for the D.W. Brooks Awards include distinguished professor, teaching, research, extension and public service extension. The CAES Faculty and Staff awards are for outstanding academic advisor, administrative/ professional, skilled trades and technical.

Recipients of this year’s awards are Peggy Ozias-Akins, Ronald Pegg, George Vellidis, Phil Brannen, Jennifer Grogan, Robert Beckstead, Mary Jane Scarborough, Carl Hall and Jennifer Berry.

Dr. Sanjaya Rajaram’s lecture will begin at 3:30 in the Maher Audition followed by a reception at 4:30. The lecture is free and open to the public and faculty and students are encouraged to attend.

For more information on the D.W. Brooks Awards and Lecture visit here.