Georgia Commodity Commissions Name New Board Members

Randall Weiseman Cattle, Corn, Cotton, Dairy, Field Crops, Fruits, General, Georgia, Industry News Release, Livestock, Specialty Crops, Vegetables

From the Georgia Department of Agriculture:

gda-logoSeveral Agriculture Commodity Commissions have recently appointed new members. The ex officio committee for the Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions recently met to vote for appointments to serve in the agriculture commodity commissions for apples, blueberry, cotton, milk, peaches, pecan, tobacco and vegetables.

Appointees, by committee, are as follows:

Andy Futch – Gilmer County
Robert Mitcham Sr. – Rabun County

David Lee- Bacon County
Albert Wildes- Bacon County

Mike Jaros- Peach County
Jerry Smith-Dawson County

Bart Davis-Colquitt County
James Webb – Calhoun County

Phil Harvey- Jasper County
Paul Johnson – Decatur County

Lawton Pearson-Crawford County
Sean Lennon-Merriweather County

Thomas Mason-Houston County
Mark Cook-Washington County
Roy Goodson- Lee County

Wayne McKinnon-Coffee County
Daniel Johnson-Pierce County

Glenn Heard-Decatur County
Ken Corbett-Echols County
Bill Brim-Tift County
Brett Williams-Toombs County

Georgia Agriculture Commodity Commissions are created by acts of the Georgia Legislature and collect assessments from the growers of the commodities under the authority of farmer approved market orders. These funds are used to support research, education and promotion projects for the commodities. Appointed members of the commissions serve terms of three years and can be reappointed for additional terms.