Broadaway Receives Florida Citrus Packers’ Highest Honor

Tacy Callies Citrus, Florida

Florida Citrus PackersFlorida Citrus Packers honored Dennis P. Broadaway with its John T. Lesley Award for Excellence at Packinghouse Day on August 27, 2015. The John T. Lesley Award is the organization’s highest recognition, reserved for individuals making sustained and outstanding contributions to Florida’s fresh citrus industry.

The list of recipients reads like a “who’s who” of the Florida citrus industry. Broadaway served as president of Florida Citrus Packers in 2001-2002. He served on the boards of Florida Citrus Packers and Florida Citrus Mutual, served on the Citrus Administrative Committee, the Board of Co-op Producers and is currently president and chairman of the board of Florida’s Natural Growers. He has provided steady leadership to the Haines City Citrus Growers Association as its executive director for the past 20 years. He is active in numerous local organizations and charities and is a staunch supporter of FFA and the next generation of agricultural leaders.