Florida Agricultural Hall Of Fame To Induct Four Tonight

Gary Cooper Cattle, Citrus, Florida

The Florida agricultural leaders who will be inducted into the Hall of Fame are:
— Dr. James Griffiths of Winter Haven (deceased)
— Richard Kelly of Tallahassee (deceased)
— Kay Richardson of Evinston
— Mason Smoak of Lake Placid (deceased)
“Florida agriculture owes an immense debt of gratitude to these outstanding leaders,” Florida Agriculture Commissioner Charles Bronson said. “Their dedicated service in the areas of research, education, business and government helped make Florida agriculture into the remarkable industry that is known and admired around the world.”

They will be inducted into the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame during the 31st annual awards celebration February 10, 2009, during the Florida State Fair in Tampa. These four inductees will bring the total to 128.

“The contributions of these individuals have left an indelible mark on Florida agriculture,” said Reggie Brown, president of the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame. “Their tireless, unselfish efforts to promote and protect Florida’s greatest industry will be recognized with the agricultural community’s highest honor as they are inducted into the Florida Agricultural Hall of Fame.”