Florida Farmers Named to National Advisory Committees

Randall Weiseman Florida

Thirteen Florida farmers and ranchers have been named to several Advisory Committees of the American Farm Bureau Federation. The purpose of the Advisory Committees is to gather facts and evaluate agricultural opportunities that benefit the whole of American agriculture and to serve in an advisory capacity to the American Farm Bureau president, Bob Stallman, and the organization’s board of directors.

“These appointments are an incredible opportunity for Florida agriculture,” said Frankie Hall, director of agricultural policy for Florida Farm Bureau Federation. “This is a testament not only to the knowledge and experience of our member farmers but to the significant roles they play in their respective areas of agriculture on a national scale.

“We are proud to have them as Florida Farm Bureau leaders and as representatives for national agriculture as well.”

The Florida Farm Bureau members and their respective committees are: Richard Carroll of St. Petersburg, Ag Nursery and Greenhouse; Ronald Slay of Center Hill, Aquaculture; Matt Harrison of Arcadia, Beef Cattle; Brant Schirard, Jr. of Ft. Pierce and Kyle Story of Babson Park, Citrus; Bill Benham of Astatula, Equine; Chris Lyons of Mayo, Hay and Forage; Steve Cantu of Zolfo Springs, Honey/Apiculture; Roland Yee of Port St. Lucie, Horticulture; Michelle Williamson of Sydney, Labor; Jeffrey Pittman of Bascom, Peanut; Carl Perry of Moore Haven, Sugar; and Damon Deas of Jennings, Tobacco.