Planted Acreage Report Deadline Extended in Some States

Dan Field Crops


Tuesday, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced they are extending the deadline to report spring-seeded crops for agricultural producers in twelve states impacted by flooding and heavy moisture. The new July 22 deadline applies to producers in Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Michigan, Missouri, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, Tennessee and Wisconsin for reporting to USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) county offices and crop insurance agents.

But, producers not in those selected states must still file reports or be added to a county register by the original July 15 deadline.

This is Farm Service Agency (FSA) Administrator Richard Fordyce.

Fordyce explains the significance for producers in reporting their crop acreage to maintain eligibility for offerings from conservation programs to crop insurance.