FL Counties Designated Disaster Areas

Randall Weiseman Florida, General, Weather

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated seven Florida counties primary natural disaster areas.

Palm Beach County was designated a primary natural disaster area because of freezing temperatures that occurred in February. Also eligible because they are contiguous are Broward, Hendry and Martin counties.

Highlands, Jefferson, Lafayette, Madison, Okeechobee and Taylor counties were designated primary natural disaster areas because of continuous drought conditions. Contiguous counties are also eligible.

Read more from USDA.

Listen To MP3 Report (1:00 mp3)