USDA Seeks Nominees for the National Peanut Board

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is seeking nominations for the National Peanut Board to replace one producer member and alternate for the states of Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, North Carolina and Virginia, for when those terms expire on Dec. 31, 2017. Each member and alternate will serve a 3-year term. Applications are due by May 1, 2017.

Alabama Farmer Elected as Peanut Board Chairman

Ed White, a peanut farmer from Headland, Alabama, was recently elected chairman of the 12-member National Peanut Board. Tyron Spearman reports that White, who is the Alabama member and recently served as the board’s 2016 vice-chairman, will begin his 1-year term January 1.