

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

October 30, 2023

THE HONORABLE BRIAN KEMP Governor State of Georgia 206 Washington Street Suite 203 State Capitol Atlanta, GA 30334

Dear Governor Kemp:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating four Georgia counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK Secretary

Enclosure

DISASTER DESIGNATION AREAS FOR GEORGIA AND CONTIGUOUS STATES

Primary Counties

Georgia (4)

Catoosa Chattooga Dade Walker

Contiguous Counties:

Georgia (3)

Floyd Gordon Whitfield

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Alabama (3)

Cherokee DeKalb Jackson

Tennessee (2)

Hamilton Marion