

United States Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

October 18, 2021

The Honorable Brian Kemp Governor State of Georgia 203 State Capitol Atlanta, Georgia 30334

Dear Governor Kemp:

On September 29, 2021 the acting Georgia State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency (FSA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), requested a primary county disaster designation for four Georgia counties due to losses caused by Tropical Storm Elsa, excessive wind, and excessive rainfall that occurred from July 7, 2021.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating all four counties as primary natural disaster areas. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and an adjacent state are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely

Thomas J. Vilsack

Velal

Secretary

Enclosure

Disaster Designation Areas for Georgia and a Contiguous State

Primary Counties:

Georgia (4)

Echols Lanier Lowndes Pierce

Contiguous Counties:

Georgia (10)

Appling Bacon Brantley Clinch Ware Atkinson Berrien Brooks Cook Wayne

In addition, in accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in an adjacent state are named as contiguous disaster areas. That state, counties, and numbers are:

Contiguous Counties in an Adjacent State:

Florida (3)

Columbia Hamilton Madison